

## The Bechtel Prize 2011 Prize Recipients

Selected by Patricia Hampl

Winner

Janet L. Bland

Williamstown, West Virginia

"The Possum"

Finalists

Julia Shipley

Craftsbury, Vermont

"Writing from the Ox House"

Jane Elkington Wohl

Sheridan, Wyoming

"On Teaching Othello Again"



## Louise Bechtel and Support for the Bechtel Prize

The Bechtel Prize is endowed by the Cerimon Fund in honor of Louise Seaman Bechtel (1894–1985). Editor, critic, author, and teacher of young children, Bechtel was the first person to head a juvenile book department established by an American publishing house. During her 15-year tenure as managing editor at the Macmillan Company (1919–1934), Bechtel shepherded production of more than 600 new books, marking a milestone in the growth and development of American literature for children.