

 (\blacklozenge)

2012 Prize Winner

Selected by Jo Ann Beard



Winner

Barbara Flug Colin Roslyn, New York "Now Let's Stare at the Purple"

()

This year's Bechtel Prize—winning essay was selected from among the finalists by Jo Ann Beard, who had this to say about it: "There was no problem for me in selecting a winner: 'Now Let's Stare at the Purple' is such a beautiful meditation on painting, poetry, and people that it really stood out. In short fragments, the author creates a piece that is part character study, part celebration of the power of poetry to unlock ideas and images, and part profound reminder that art resides in all populations. It does so many things on so many levels, and all simultaneously. I just loved it."



۲

Louise Bechtel and Support for the Bechtel Prize

The Bechtel Prize is endowed by the **Cerimon Fund** in honor of **Louise Seaman Bechtel** (1894–1985). Editor, critic, author, and teacher of young children, Bechtel was the first person to head a juvenile book department established by an American publishing house. During her 15-year tenure as managing editor at the Macmillan Company (1919–1934), Bechtel shepherded production of more than 600 new books, marking a milestone in the growth and development of American literature for children.